Inuit alumni call for new names for schools in Nunatsiavut

January 23, 2019

Caitlyn Baikie and Jessica Winters are pressing to see new names given to Nunatsiavut schools, which are currently named after missionaries, in order to better reflect their Inuit students. “It will change how young Inuit today feel about themselves and in their communities,” said Baikie. “To have a name on that school that's reflective of who you are, it's something that you can be very proud of.” CBC reports that schools act as community hubs in Nunatsiavut that host community feasts, concerns, and sporting events. The schools, including JC Erhardt Memorial School and BL Morrison School, are overseen by the Newfoundland and Labrador English School District, and Baikie stated that she hopes Nunatsiavut leaders will bring their case forward to the NL Government. CBC reports that some members of the community have pushed back on the suggestion. CBC|CBC (NL)