Resiliency programs at 3 NT schools receive funding

March 25, 2015

3 schools in the Northwest Territories have received funding to enhance or develop resiliency programs. The territorial government will provide each school—Diamond Jenness Secondary School in Hay River, K’álemì Dene School in Ndilo, and Helen Kalvak Elihakvik school in Ulukhaktok—with $50,000 through the Education Renewal and Innovation initiative. “Building resiliency in youth makes them stronger and better able to deal with challenges in their lives,” said Minister of Education, Culture and Employment Jackson Lafferty. “Resiliency programs help youth connect to the community and culture they live in. This encourages positive relationships, develops leadership skills, and strengthens that young person’s identity and well-being.” The programs were chosen based on a variety of criteria, including the stated goal of the program, cultural relevance, and community-building. Program coordinators at each school will work together with the department to evaluate program success, potentially leading to the development of a framework for further expansion of resiliency programs. NT News