2014 Killam Prize winners announced

April 11, 2014

The Canada Council for the Arts has announced the 2014 Killam Prize winners. Often considered the Nobel Prize of Canada, the Killam Prize recognizes individuals “who have boldly and consistently pushed the boundaries of our understanding of the world,” said Joseph L Rotman, Chair of the Canada Council. “Each has aspired to excellence in their chosen disciplines and to improving the lives of people around the globe through their research and scholarly pursuits.” The winners are: Sajeev John, a physicist and pioneering theoretician from the University of Toronto; Andreas Mandelis, an engineer who specializes in diagnostic applications of lasers in applied physics at uToronto; James Miller, an historian at the University of Saskatchewan; Francis Plummer, chief scientific officer of the Public Health Agency of Canada and an HIV/AIDS researcher at the University of Manitoba; and Fraser Taylor, cybercartography pioneer at Carleton University. The recipients each receive $100,000. Canada Council News Release |Winnipeg Free Press | uSask News Release | uToronto News Release | uManitoba News Release | Carleton News Release