Landmark agreement supports First Nations postsecondary students

September 28, 2020

Six postsecondary institutions, six First Nations, and other partners in southwestern Ontario have signed the Post-Secondary Education Collaborative agreement promoting opportunities for First Nations students. The agreement provides a framework and conditions for the parties to work together in helping First Nations students have “a safe and successful post-sec experience,” explained Southern First Nations Secretariat (SFNS) executive director Jennifer Whiteye. The group has so far focused on knowledge-sharing and solidifying relationships, and the next step for the signers will be to develop an action plan. The agreement includes Lambton College, Fanshawe College, St Clair College, triOS College in London, Western University, and the University of Windsor; member nations of the SFNS; and the regional tribal council and the Tecumseh Community Development Corporation at Aamjiwnaang. Anishinabek News (ON)