Nobel Prize in Physics

October 4, 2006

  Tuesday, John Mather of NASA and George Smoot of UC Berkeley were named the winners of the 2006 Nobel Prize in Physics for “their discovery of the blackbody form and anistotropy of the cosmic microwave background radiation,” work that is credited with advancing knowledge about the origin of galaxies and stars, and with supporting the Big Bang theory for the origin of the Universe. (See )