Postsecondary researchers receive awards for research, excellence

November 19, 2021
The Government of Canada has issued NSERC Prizes to researchers at postsecondary institutions across Canada to recognize their research and celebrate their excellence. Dr Hanadi Sleiman from McGill University has received NSERC’s John C Polanyi Award to recognize her contributions to DNA nanotechnology, while Dr Sajeev John from the University of Toronto has received the Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering for pioneering research on trapping and controlling photos in optical microchips. Synergy Awards for Innovation were awarded to five researchers: Yu Sun (U of T), Bonnie Mallard (University of Guelph), Ludvik Martinu and Jolanta Klemberg-Sapieha (Polytechnique de Montréal), and Edward Sykes (Sheridan College). Six researchers won the EWR Steacie Memorial Fellowships: Natalie Ban (University of Victoria), Emily Cranston (University of British Columbia), Jessica Grahn (Western University), Martin Krkosek (U of T), Sandra Rehan (York University), and Alfred Yu (University of Waterloo). News Wire | NSERC (Prize List) | CBC | UoGuelph (National)