Saskatchewan degree-granting legislation now in effect

October 30, 2012

Legislation allowing the Saskatchewan government to extend degree-granting authority to PSE schools other than the Universities of Regina and Saskatchewan was proclaimed Monday. The Degree Authorization Act applies to all educational institutions involved in offering part or all of a degree program and deemed to have a physical presence in the province, and to any degree program that is specifically targeted to Saskatchewan students through advertising. The Act authorizes the new Saskatchewan Higher Education Quality Assurance Board (SHEQAB) to oversee a quality assurance review of institutions pursuing degree-granting status in the province. SHEQAB will evaluate new degree programs proposed by both in-province institutions (other than uRegina and uSask) and out-of-province institutions. Saskatchewan News Release | Degree-Granting in Saskatchewan | SHEQAB Website