Saskatchewan to hold public consultations on expanding degree-granting status

February 25, 2011

In response to ongoing requests from post-secondary schools and developments in higher education elsewhere in Canada, the Saskatchewan government announced Friday a public consultation process to consider expanding degree-granting status in the province. Currently, only the Universities of Regina and Saskatchewan can grant degrees other than theological degrees. The initiative has 3 components: outside consultants will be recruited to guide the project; stakeholder and public input will be sought through broad consultations; and quality standards will be developed through a quality assurance process. Saskatchewan News Release