UManitoba re-introduces Department of Earth Sciences

July 5, 2021
The University of Manitoba has returned to the original name for its geological sciences department: The Department of Earth Sciences. The name was previously used by the department between 1967 and 2005. The release explains that the change better reflects the curriculum and future direction of the department. The change became effective on July 1, though students in the department will not see course or degree changes at this time. “As the study of the Earth has evolved, the Department is constantly exploring the dynamics and processes of these changes,” said Dr Stephan Pflugmacher-Lima, Dean of UManitoba’s Riddell Faculty. “The updated name recognizes this evolution in the field beyond classical geology and geophysics.” UManitoba (MB)