UTSC develops new academic plan

July 25, 2012

The University of Toronto Scarborough will create 6 new academic departments and revise its curriculum under a new academic plan approved earlier this month. The Department of Humanities and the Department of Social Sciences will be sub-divided into the Departments of Arts, Culture & Media; Anthropology; Human Geography; Historical & Cultual Studies; Political Science; and Sociology. 3 extra-departmental units will also be developed for French & Linguistics, Health, and International Development Studies. The departmental reorganization is part of a broader change in course offerings, which will see an emphasis on new and emerging areas of scholarship at the undergraduate level, and an expansion of graduate studies at UTSC. The plan also aims to expand UTSC's strength in experiential education. UTSC News